Been a while

It’s been a while since I posted so I thought I better get on here and say something before you all started thinking I had been eaten by a seal or fell into a crevasse or something.

Everything is pretty good. I can’t believe I’ve been here over 2 months now, only 5 more to go, and the WINFLY folks will be here in 4 months.  I talked to the boss man in charge and he’s already told me I can have the PC Tech position for next winter.  So I should be back home for about 4-4.5 months and then I’ll come back next winter.

I’ve taken lots of random pics, mostly outside, over the last couple of weeks but I’ve just been too lazy to post them. So I figured I’d go ahead and post a ton so this will be a pic heavy post.

I found these couple of articles about Antarctica related stuff that sort of has to do with the area I’m at.  One of them is about Mount Erebus, the southernmost active volcano in the world, it’s right down the road from here.  The other is about a 12 mile x 21 mile hunk of ice that fairly recently broke off of Pine Island Glacier, or PIG as it’s refereed to around here. I’m not totally sure how far away it is from here but PIG is one of the field camps people from here goto every summer for some sort of research. I’ve done maintenance on all the laptops they use for the PIG camp, so I sort of have a tie to it, in a round about way.

 

It’s weird the things that wind makes the snow do…

In case you needed to turn on the hall “lites”…

On the other side of the door and it’s spelled the same so it must be right…

Just in case you find yourself in need of some fire and you happen to be all out…

Random outdoor pics…

We had the last sunset for the winter a few days ago.  Some folks went out to Pegasus to get a good view of it.  The airfield is named after this aircraft that crashed here in 1970.  Here are some pics of the last sunset.  The sun is gone now and it’ll be several months until we see it again.  It’s still dusk/dawn-ish out for some parts of the day but it’s getting darker and darker everyday.  When I goto work and get off work it’s pretty much dark, but we get some light in the afternoon. Pretty soon it’ll be totally dark all the time. I miss the sun already…

Going…

Going…

Gone…

I thought the clouds looked kind of cool, plus the fog coming off the water…